I recently looked at my site and was horrified to spot ‘not secure’ on the header bar.
Why would my site suddenly have ceased to be ‘secure' and how can I expect folk to shop on my site if it isn’t safe?
Before I go any further, I must reassure you that shopping for chocolate on my site IS SECURE. When you checkout, you are transferred to a special secure site, as has always been the case. Nothing has changed in this regard.
All that has changed is that my web provider has decreed that, if I want my site to say ‘secure’ on the header bar, I need to ‘upgrade’ (ie pay an extra monthly subscription).
This means megabucks folks, for a tiny business like mine. I can’t afford it, I can’t justify it and it doesn’t make any sense to pay it because checkout is secure, just as it always has been (and that’s where you enter all sensitive information such as card details, etc).
So, dear readers, never fear – you can continue to shop till you drop on my Mill Street Chocolate Website and all your details will remain safe as house, as always.